A few days Later CGMS & the DOC…

It lasted actually about 3.5 years.

It lasted actually about 3.5 years.

Got a call from MM Today… They contacted me to let me know they got the info which I sent the therapy guy – my past 60 days of bg’s etc. He is actually optimistic of a new transmitter being obtainable. I had sent him the Tandem reports, and he was all over them. He said: “I wish ours looked as nice” and “I like the Tandem reports. This is the first time I’ve seen this…”

When my Transmitter died, I was told by my insurance that they typically do NOT cover CGMS, but as I already HAD one when the insurance changed “We’ll try, anyway!”. But I posted about my anxiety on this, and People here in Facebook SENT me a Dexcom 7+, another sent me a MM transmitter that is still perfectly functional, It’s reading now, actually…!

PWD in the DOC are AWESOME!!! I cannot express how much I appreciate all these folks who have my back!

Dexcom is darn close!!

Dexcom is darn close!!

I’m wearing both CGMS systems right now to give a ‘report’ of each to my Endo and CDE, Thought I’d share with you here.

The pros of each are:

Dexcom 7+: BIG display, very audible alarms, seems so close to my meter it’s nuts, Sensor insertion is not painful at all. Receiver can be charged, transmitter doesn’t need charged. Rechargeable receiver, no Battery hunt!

Minimed (CGMS alone) I already have the 723 pump which I use as the reader for the CGMS. Smaller sensor and can cover the whole whack to shower. Software is Mac/Win Compatible. My Endo does the MM downloads in office and I can at home thru Carelink. With the transmitter I’m using now, MM is also very close to my meter BG’s.

Cons of each:

Dexcom 7+: is an older model and most likely will be discontinued within a year or so. Receiver is bigger. Sensor and transmitter is not actually waterproof, so if I shower and it gets wet, I have about an hour of very high readings. Software is Windows only. My Endo is (Seemingly) MM-centric.

Minimed (CGMS) OWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW……. ’nuff said on sensor insertion. They are a somewhat painful insert, but once done, no pain… Alarm’s not as audible and I can miss some of the alerts. Harder to see display. MM needs it’s transmitter charged at LEAST every 6 days, requires me to disconnect from sensor, the receiver is powered by AAA battery I usually have to replace this every 3 weeks. but I cover the sensor/Transmitter and hop into the shower without a problem.

Both CGMS's and my meter reading

Both CGMS’s and my meter reading One’s too high & the other’s not caught up yet!

Many people say the Dex is more expensive, but I disagree. I think they are very close in price. 4 sensors on Dexcom are a few dollars more than 10 of the MM’s, but these are for 7+ day wear. Not just three days as the MM ones are. Either receiver can be paired to a new transmitter if that alone needs to be replaced. Transmitter (DEX) is $550, MM’s is $649. Receivers depend on the type: G4, 7+ or MM’s which I am using my old 723 pump for, so it was ‘free’ in a way. I’d say either unit based on use and amounts of supplies, can work out to being fairly close to each other.

It will be interesting to see the graphs from both of these systems next week or two. I’m looking forward to see my “Geekdom” on paper!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

