Accomplishments – Big And Small

Today’s topic is about accomplishments. Big and small. “We don’t always realize it, but each one of us had come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small – think about self-acceptance, something you’ve mastered (pump / exercise / diet / etc.), making a tough care decision (finding a new endo or support group / choosing to use or not use a technology / etc.). (Thanks to Hilary of Rainie and Me for this topic suggestion.)”

I would have to say when I was first diagnosed, I was told by my relatives and strangers alike how someone with diabetes usually had some wicked bad complications of the eyes, kidneys, legs, feet whatever. I always thought it was high glycemic levels that caused this. In a way, It was. Far from what I at first thought, That one’s vessels became so clogged with sugar, it would block the vessels over time.Don’t laugh, I really thought that!

I learned later that it is usually when the glucose levels aren’t stable, I was told how it caused small ‘breaks’ or wounds in the vascular walls. Even though these little ‘cracks’ are fairly common through the years, most people without diabetes and elevated glucose levels will heal up with minimal damage.

In the case of people with diabetes, it is also a problem AFTER the vessel heals. Those little wounds leave behind scars in the vascular walls, to which fat deposits would cling to. A sort of bad paint job over and over the same wall, again and again, thickening every time. So, with that in my mind, I made it a point to avoid high cholesterol foods and so on, in order to try to do something positive for my circulation. From early days, I would ask for, and usually got a cholesterol test done. It was pretty good, and even now is well within normal limits. As the kidneys are 80% capillary, this is good for them as well.

We have to remember: Many “Old Timer” people who were diagnosed in the early 70’s and before were urged to eat more proteins and fats than we are today, because we are now more familiar with the way these substances can affect our bodies. We also have the ability to monitor our own glycemic levels with actual blood tests instead a two-hour-old urinalysis like we had to in the early eighties. We have a greater awareness on how exercise and proper rest will help us in the long run. Even vitamins, within moderate doses can help many of us get what we may not get enough of in our food.

I’ve gone to community college and learned about nutrition science, How to look at food labels with a more critical eye than I used to. I got some nice background in my pocket to care for this condition. I like to learn new things and now with computers, iPads and what have you, getting this knowledge for free is a boon for many of us. We can study what we would like to in our own time and although I may never get a big degree or such, I’m having fun!

I learn a lot from the DOC and my pals on Twitter, but I try to take care to research and get more facts about a given subject than I used to.

Have a great week!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accomplishments – Big And Small

Leave a Reply

